Kenya High Commission
 in Botswana

About Kenya

General Information

Kenya lies astride the equator on the Eastern Cost of Africa and is a medium sized country covering an area of about 586,600 square kilometers. Inland Water bodies cover 10, 700 square kilometers.

The bulk of this is in lakes Victoria and Turkana. The country is bordered by Somalia and the Indian Ocean to the East, Ethiopia to the North, South Sudan to the West, Uganda to the West and Tanzania to the South.

Kenya has impressive topographical diversity that includes glaciated mountains with snowcapped peaks, the Great Rift Valley with its craters and Volcanoes, ancient granitic hills, flat desert landscapes and coral reefs and islets at the coast.


Kenya experiences a variety of climatic conditions due to the varied altitudes stretching from the coast to the highlands. Sun lovers can enjoy humid warm to hot climate at the popular Kenyan coast along the Indian Ocean and the inland region around Lake Victoria, the second largest freshwater body in the world.
The Kenyan highlands are cool with relatively high rainfall and can be cold at night especially around mountain regions. Near desert conditions in the semi arid Northern Kenya provide endless expanses of tough wilderness for the strong and adventurous.


National Parks and Reserves

About 8% of Kenya's land mass is protected area for wildlife conservation. This comprises of 23 terrestrial national parks, 28 terrestrial national reserves, 4 marine national reserves, 6 marine national reserves 4 national sanctuaries. The most famous include the Masai Mara Tsavo National Park, Nairobi National Park (a few minutes from CBD), Amboseli, Nakuru, and Aberdares.



Kenya has a population of 41 Million comprising of 42 ethnic groups that provide a rich cultural diversity. Kenya's cultural diversity and uniqueness weaves a rich human tapestry and makes the nation a regional melting pot. While each of the nation's indigenous communities has its own unique language, practices, staple food, dress, dance and music, they are all distinctly and wonderfully Kenyan.
The national language is Kiswahili while English is the Official Language. Nairobi is the capital city while other cities and principle towns are Mombasa, Kisumu, Nakuru, Eldoret, Nyeri and Thika.

National Park

Important information

  • Int. Airports: JKIA, Mombasa, Kisumu and Eldoret
  • Time Zone: + 3 hours GMT
  • Currency: Kenya Shilling
  • Power supply 240 V, Three square socket

Public Holidays

  • New Year's Day - 01 January
  • Good Friday
  • Easter Monday
  • Labour Day - 01 May
  • Madaraka Day* - 01 June
  • Mashujaa Day* - 20 October
  • Jamhuri (Independence) Day* - 12 December
  • Christmas - 25 December
  • Boxing Day - 26 December